The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (CDEEP) oversees the Emission Reduction Credit Registry. Within Connecticut, areas are classified as moderate and marginal nonattainment zones for Ozone and sit within the Northern New Jersey-New York-Connecticut (NJ-NY-CT) nonattainment area including the counties of Fairfield, Middlesex, and New Haven.

In Connecticut, stationary sources must obtain ERCs to satisfy the offset ratio requirements for the proposed emissions increase. Sources must obtain ERCs if they emit more than:

  • 25 tpy of NOx
  • 25 tpy of VOC

In Connecticut, the current offset ratio for moderate nonattainment is 1.15 to 1, and for marginal nonattainment the offset ratio is 1.1 to 1 tons of ERCs to each new ton of emissions.

Emission Reduction Credits can be generated by facilities in Connecticut in the form of either Continuous Emission Reduction Credits (CERCs) or Discreet Emission Reduction Credits (DERCs). CERs represent emission reductions achieved by shutting down an existing emissions unit. DERCs are credits generated by facilities that emit at levels below the regulatory threshold and are sold to emission sources that are not consistently able to meet regulatory thresholds.