The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection’s (NJDEP) Bureau of Stationary Sources (BoSS) houses the state’s Banked Emissions Credits (Creditable Emissions Reductions or CERs).

New Jersey is classified in two separate nonattainment regions: NJ North and NJ South. NJ North is encompassed in the NY-NJ-CT nonattainment area including Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren counties. NJ South is within the PA-NJ-MD-DE nonattainment area and includes Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Mercer, Ocean, and Salem counties. New Jersey also sits in the Ozone Transport Region (OTR), and stationary sources in all counties are required to obtain ERCs to satisfy the offset ratio requirements for the proposed emissions increase. Sources must obtain ERCs if they emit more than:

  • 25 tpy of NOx
  • 25 tpy of VOC
  • 40 tpy of SO2

In New Jersey the current offset ratio for 8-hour ozone emissions is 1.3 to 1 tons of ERCs to each new ton of emissions. For SO2, the offset ratio is 1 to 1 tons of ERCs to each new ton of emissions.

The state of New Jersey allows ERCs to transfer from one facility to another in the form of Creditable Emission Reductions (CERs). Once CERs are transferred between facility, they can be used to offset emissions required in the specifications above.