The San Joaquin Valley Air District’s mission is to improve the health and quality of life for all Valley residents through efficient, effective, and entrepreneurial air quality management strategies. The SJVAPCD is made up of eight counties in the Central Valley, including: San Joaquin, Merced, Madera, Fresno, Kings, Tulare, and the San Joaquin Valley Air Basin portion of Kern county. The SJVAPCD made historic improvements in air quality and set unparalleled achievement milestones in the process.

SJVAPCD is designated as nonattainment California’s ambient air quality standards for Ozone, PM2.5, and PM10. In SJVAPCD stationary sources must obtain ERCs to satisfy the offset ratio requirements for the proposed emissions increase. Sources must obtain ERCs if they emit more than:

  • 10 tons/year of NOx
  • 10 tons/year of VOC
  • 100 tons/year CO
  • 15 tons/year PM2.5
  • 15 tons/year of PM10
  • 27 tons/year of SOx