The Wasatch Front and parts of the Uinta Basin were designated as Marginal nonattainment areas for NOx and VOM (Volatile Organic Material) by the Environmental Protection Agency. Areas along the Wasatch Front affected by the designation include – NOx and VOM:

  • Salt Lake County
  • Davis County
  • Weber County
  • Tooele County
  • Utah County
  • Areas in the Uinta Basin affected include portions of Uintah and Duchesne counties below 6,250 feet

The following areas are in moderate non-attainment of PM10:

  • Ogden Area (Weber County)
  • Salt Lake County
  • Utah County

The following areas are in moderate or serious non-attainment of PM2.5:

  • Logan (Moderate)
  • Provo (Serious)
  • Salt Lake City (Serious)

Given the geographic stipulations mentioned above, sources must obtain ERCs if they emit more than:

  • 40 tons/year of NOx
  • 40 tons/year of VOM (Volatile Organic Material)
  • 40 tons/year of SO2 (Sulfur Dioxide)
  • 100 tons/year of CO
  • 15 tons/year of PM10
  • 10 tons/year of PM2.5

The Utah Department of Environmental Quality (UDEQ) manages an emission reduction credit bank. New or modified major facilities in nonattainment areas must obtain ERCs to satisfy the offset ratio (1:1 – 1.2:1) requirements for proposed increases. Qualifying emissions reductions can be banked for later use or sale.